Sonoma County CareerFest is a virtual event to help Sonoma County students explore local careers and build career-readiness skills. Students can participate in live virtual career panels and career-readiness workshops featuring local business and community representatives.

Sonoma County CareerFest is a collaborative effort between CTE Foundation, SCOE, and several high school Work-Based Learning Coordinators and College & Career Counselors from across Sonoma County!

*Sonoma County CareerFest branding and logo designs were created by media students at Rancho Cotate High School.

COMING

March 6 – 10, 2023

The 2023 CareerFest schedule will be released in early 2023. In the meantime, please enjoy the videos below of interviews, career panels, and workshops from past CareerFest events.

2022 Videos

Video Description
Special Guest Interview with

Guy Fieri

Guy is a world-renowned chef, restauranteur, author, and TV personality, but he still calls Sonoma County his home! Learn what makes our region so special to live, work, and play. Guy will also discuss what it takes to be successful in restaurants, hospitality, tourism, and entrepreneurial careers.

2021 Videos

Video Description
Nearly every industry is going through a transformation. Make sure you are prepared for the careers of the future.
FEATURING: Katie Greaves, Director of the Sonoma County Workforce Investment Board (WIB)  |   Hamish Gray, Senior Vice President of Keysight Technologies  |  Dan Voit, CEO of Blentech

Continue Your Career Search

Explore almost 100 virtual tours, interviews, panel discussions, and demonstrations to help you better understand the career opportunities in Sonoma County

ADV. MANUFACTURING & ENGINEERING

manufacturing plant

AGRICULTURE

ag tech

AUTOMATION & DIGITAL TRANSFORMATION

digital transformation

CONSTRUCTION

construction

ENERGY & ENVIRONMENT

energy solar panels

FOOD & BEVERAGE MANUFACTURING

HEALTHCARE

 
 

HOSPITALITY & TOURISM

Hospitality-&-Tourism

WOMEN IN STEM

women-in-stem/

ONE-ON-ONE CAREER INTERVIEWS

interviews

Know Who To Talk To At Your School

Find your school’s College and Career Counselor or Work-Based Learning Coordinator below. They are there to help you!
Casa Grande High School

Valarie Alston, College Career Center Outreach Specialist
valston@petk12.org
(707) 778-4690

 
Casa Grande High School

Valarie Alston, College Career Center Outreach Specialist
valston@petk12.org
(707) 778-4690

 
Cloverdale High School

Kathryn Ulrich, Academic Counselor
ulrichk@cusd.org
707-894-1924

 
Elsie Allen High School

Yosan Zeweldi, College & Career Counselor
yzeweldi@srcs.k12.ca.us

 
Geyserville New Tech Academy

Jesus Diaz, College and Career Counselor
jdiaz@gusd.com
Cell: (707) 360-2529
Office: (707) 857-3592

 
Healdsburg High School

Shelley Anderson, WBL Specialist and Scholarship Coordinator
sanderson@husd.org
Cell: 707-481-3934

 
Laguna High School

Leah Woody, College and Career Counselor
lwoody@wscuhsd.org
Cell: 707-484-3221

 
Maria Carrillo High School

Kim Handel, College & Career Counselor
khandel@srcs.k12.ca.us
(707) 890-3820

Montgomery High School

Paige Wilson, College & Career Counselor
pgwilson@srcs.k12.ca.us
(707) 890-3830 x50168

 
Northwest Prep Charter Middle & High School

Jessica Zepeda, Counselor
jzepeda@pousd.org
707-22-57403

 
Petaluma High School

Melanie Cooper, College and Career Specialist
mjcooper@petk12.org
707-778-4857

 
Piner High School

Nicole Cancilla, College & Career Counselor
ncancillakopf@srcs.k12.ca.us
707-890-3840 x51126

 
Rancho Cotate High School

Jess Hazlewood, College & Career Counselor
jess_hazlewood@crpusd.org
(707) 792-4750
Virtual CCC: bit.ly/rchsccc
Make an appointment: https://calendly.com/rchsccc

 
Ridgway Cotate High School

Nicole Tafoya, College & Career Counselor
ntafoya@srcs.k12.ca.us
707-890-3770 ext 60119

 
Roseland University Prep

Sean Kerr, College & Career Coordinator
skerr@roselandsd.org

Santa Rosa High School

Tracy Batchelder, College and Career Counselor
tbatchelder@srcs.k12.ca.us
(707) 890-3850 x52123

Sonoma Mountain High School

Valarie Alston, College Career Center Outreach Specialist
valston@petk12.org
(707) 778-4690

 
Sonoma Valley High School

Wendy Swanson, Work-Based Learning Coordinator
wswanson@sonomaschools.org
707-933-4048

 
Technology High School

Kristina Juarez, School Counselor
Kristina_Juarez@crpusd.org
707-792-4825 ext 24115

 

Tomales High School

Rachael Kobe, School Counselor
rachael.kobe@shorelineunified.org
Google Voice: 707-879-8314
Office: 707-878-2286 ext 207

 
West County High School

Leah Woody, College & Career Coordinator
lwoody@wscuhsd.org
(707) 837-7767, 2137

Stacy Fortin, WBL Coordinator
lwoody@wscuhsd.org
(707) 837-7767, 2137

Cynthia Beutelspacher, Family Engagement Coordinator (Habla Espanol)

 
Winsor High School

Jennifer Taddei, College & Career Coordinator
jtaddei@wusd.org
(707) 837-7767, 2137

RESOURCES FOR  TEACHERS

Quick & easy assignment ideas to help students take notes and reflect on their session(s)?

These assignments are fillable GoogleDocs! Copy the file and modify it to suit your needs, or share the link and have students make a file copy so they can fill it out electronically and submit it in the format you prefer.

Deepen student engagement by integrating with a Work-based Learning (WBL) activity. See our WBL Challenges for ideas!

Find out more about WBL and discover resources that can help on the CCR Force website: https://www.ccrforce.org/workbased-learning

PRESS RELEASE

Sonoma County CareerFest is a collaboration of local high school college & career counselors and work-based learning coordinators, the Sonoma County Office of Education (SCOE), and the Career Technical Education (CTE) Foundation.

DOWNLOAD THE PRESS RELEASE